Second Semester at UGA

Classes here at the University of Georgia are in full swing. I just finished my first two days in my second semester at college. Although I’m a little daunted by certain aspects of my spring courses I’m going to try my hardest to not let any of it phase me! That being said, here’s some little tidbits I’ve learned about life in these past few days:

1. You may think you don’t have as many friends as you do

I came back to school thinking I didn’t have any close friends. I didn’t know who I was going to swap secrets with or talk about with all my problems. The day before classes started I ended up in the main dining hall with a few friends before almost every single friend I’d made in college showed up and sat together around two tables. After dinner we watched the Golden Globes and exchanged belated surprise Christmas gifts. People say you find your “forever friends” in college, and I think this group of guys and gals is it.

2. Amazon won’t let you rent your textbooks if your card expires the month they’re due

It’s a stupid rule and I hate it. End of story.

3. Mom and Dad are always right there

I knew this but didn’t take advantage of it last semester. I call my mom a lot more now (it’s only been two days but I’ve actually called her, okay?) and my dad and I keep in touch by emailing each other links to super nerdy things we find on the internet. It’s our little way of saying “I’m thinking about you.”

4. Access Codes…I’m paying to be able to do my homework

Seriously, I had to pay for an access code to be able to get onto a website in order to do my homework so I can pass a class I’m already paying for with my tuition and fees. This wasn’t a problem ten years ago and people still graduated college?! Let me turn in my homework on paper, or better yet – have a universal homework website that you pay for ONCE in four years of school. Please and thank you!

5. Rate. My. Professor.

God bless America for this little gem. I used it to find both my history and my American government professors and they’re wonderful!

6. Down Week (AKA Drop/Add)

This week is typically super chill so I’d recommend getting ahead in the classes you think are going to be the hardest so when two or three weeks from now you’re ready to give up because you have four exams in two days you have a parachute waiting to catch you (and you won’t stay up until 5am reading textbooks while stress-crying).

7. Retakes aren’t the end of the world

I’m retaking General Chemistry 1211 this semester because I dropped it last fall. I thought everything would be the same but the chemistry department changed the textbook, materials, and teachers. I was a mess when I figured this out. I thought about changing my major to something that didn’t require Gen. Chem. But, upon going to class today, I realized that at least five people from my last chemistry class were retaking this one with me. Intro classes are weed out classes. They’re supposed to be hard. Keep pushing, make friends with the people around you, get a tutor, and do all the practice problems. Don’t tell yourself you’re going to fail because then you’ll actually start to think you’re going to fail. You’ll get there. I’ll get there. Hard work and perseverance are the keys to success!

 

I hope everyone’s new semester is going well! Good luck on school, you’ll do great – I know it!

xo Bailey

P.S. Don’t forget to subscribe or like my post if you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

