Silver Linings

Things aren’t always great. I’m sure you’ve figured this out by now. This week has been rocky for me. I started back to school with a bad mind set because of lack of communication between my chemistry professor and I, rolled my ankle in gym, passed out in front of my entire class, had two massive panic attacks, got behind in my classes, and two of my favorite people died. Not my worst week ever, but it was pretty darn rotten.

In middle school and high school I’d get so wrapped up in all the bad things that happened to me that I’d make this giant list of all the terrible things I’d gone through. It’d range for months, and I wouldn’t have the heart to let it go. I didn’t realize how bad it’d gotten until I found myself upset and complaining about something that’d happened over a year ago, but I was acting like it’d happened yesterday.

Since then I’ve tried to be more uplifting about my life. Sure I have bad days, or bad weeks, but instead of only listing off all the bad (like I did up there in my first paragraph) I make a short list of all the things I’m upset about, so I can get them off my chest, and put a huge BUT at the end, and then proceed to list off all the good things I’ve encountered. I try to list off as many good things as bad, but usually end up with more blessings. For instance, this past week I started back to school with a bad mind set because of lack of communication between my chemistry professor and I, rolled my ankle in gym, passed out in front of my entire class, had two massive panic attacks, got behind in my classes, and two of my favorite people died, BUT a girl in my psych class is going to be training a baby guide dog poodle and she’s bringing it to class with her, my boyfriend and I discovered an amazing new television series, my mom sent me pictures of my cat, it finally stopped raining in Athens, one of the UGA football coaches brought his kids onto campus this weekend and they’re the most adorable kiddos ever, and I get the day off today.

Take on negative and replace it with a positive each day. It’s the little things that make the biggest difference.

xo Bailey569191abe564e0852c64057fd343ec38

 

Leave a Reply

