What’s Ten Inches Anyway?

IMG_0559

Chopping off my hair is one of the most exhilarating things I’ve done. And I’ve done it a lot. Actually, I’ve donated over four feet of hair over the course of ten years.

I’ve gotten some strange looks when I tell people that I donate my hair to organizations that make wigs for cancer patients. Here’s the thing about human hair wigs: they look and feel like real human hair because, spoiler alert, they are! I’ve also heard that they don’t slide around on your head as much as ¬†synthetic wigs.

To us, it’s hair. To women battling cancer, it’s hope. -Pantene Beautiful Lengths

Real hair wigs can be very expensive, but thanks to the American Cancer Society Wig Bank wigs are donated to the people that need them. Pantene Beautiful Lengths partnered with the American Cancer Society Wig Bank back in 2006 and has donated over 40,000 wigs so far!

I donate my hair because, if I don’t, it’ll just go sit in a landfill somewhere until it decomposes. It wouldn’t be helping or hurting anyone. It’d just mind it’s own business until it becomes dirt. So, instead of letting my hair waste away, I decide to give it a new life by donating it. Granted the minimum amount of hair you can donate is eight inches, but I like the thrill of chopping all my hair off in one go, so eight inches is practically nothing to me. But those eight inches could mean a whole new outlook on life for someone else! I’d definitely encourage everyone to donate their hair at some point in their life. Some organizations, such as Locks of Love, send you a thank you card from the recipient of the wig made out of your hair. How sweet is that?

IMG_0558

Have you ever donated your hair? Let me know your story in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

