My Five Love Languages and Acts of Service for Valentine’s Day

A friend turned me on to taking the five love languages quiz at the end of last semester. My top love language is acts of service. While it came as no surprise, it was nice to have some affirmation that I like what I like and I know what makes me happy.

Acts of Service: Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter. Finding ways to serve speaks volumes to the recipient of these acts.

Five Love Letters

Affirmations are always nice (and they’re almost all of my friends’ top love language) and they go right along with acts of service if you’re making Valentine’s Day cards this week!

Delta Gamma got together and made cards for the visually impaired using puffy paint for the braille! If you go into stores, you won’t find many cards for the blind (or any at all if you shop where I shop). Making your own is super easy. Send them to a school for the visually impaired near you! Delta Gamma sent ours to schools in Atlanta.

Another card writing act of service I’ve done recently is through More Love Letters. My group of freshmen and I got together yesterday night to write cards for people going through hard times. More Love Letters is an organization that provides a short story about someone’s hardship (that’s asked for letters, or has had someone ask on their behalf) and an address for people to write notes of encouragement to them. You can find them by clicking here! My Freshman Forum group wrote more than fifteen letters for Joe, Shelby, Regina, Anthony, and Erica.

Those are just two small acts of service to think about this Thursday (or before!). Happy Valentine’s Day y’all!

Leave a comment